Tags

, ,

This is from a few days ago. I rarely wear anything other than beige and nude, so this color was a pretty huge thing for me. I used Sinful Colors in Amethyst with Orly Shine On Crazy Diamond on top for sparkle.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The thing I really liked about this polish was that I got a nice, opaque finish with just one coat. For the most part, it went on smoothly. The color was a really rich purple, true to the color in the bottle. It also dried very quickly, which is always a plus.

Sadly, I think the cons outweigh the pros with this one. Even with a basecoat and topcoat, this started chipping badly the next day. And I had painted my nails in the evening around 8:30. I would say it didnt even last a full 24 hours before I had to remove or touch up. And even though it went on nice and opaque, if I didnt move quickly, it did get rather goopy on my nails.

Overall, I would say this is a good budget pick, particularly if you like to change your polish a lot. I have a few of these and find the staying power is rather hit or miss. This one was a miss for me, but thats probably due to the bright color, which I dont generally choose. Sinful Colors has a really large color selection and are easily available at many locations (I get mine from Walgreens). If you dont mind touching up regularly, then I would say go ahead and give Amethyst a go. For me, I probably will just use it on my toes, since I dont have the time to constantly change my polish or worry about touch ups.

